Curlie Girlie

Just another WordPress.com site

So, I had a pre… May 14, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — curliegirlie @ 9:25 pm

So, I had a pretty wonderful weekend.  My family and I did some fancy camping!  ‘-What’s fancy-camping?’ you may be asking yourself…Well, imagine all the awesomeness of camping, fires, woods, fishing, canoes, whittling sticks, etc, and add in some sporadic electricity and a cabin!  Woo!  

We went down to Camp Wyandot in the Hocking Hills area of Ohio.  Love that place.  We’ve been going there my entire life, usually twice a year (spring and fall).  The past few years have been hit or miss for me, what with life getting in the way, so I was so desperately happy to be able to go this time.  

Julie and I packed up mom’s Rav4 and headed out of town around 2:00pm on friday afternoon.  Traffic was not terrible,and  we arrived at camp at 2:45pm.  We were teh first ones there, so we set up the main cabin, moved some stuff around, did some light decorating for mother’s day, and then jumped in the kayaks.  There’s a pond right in the heart of camp, right down the hill from the main cabin.  We took advantage of the quietness to paddle around the pond, and belt out country songs. Julie had printed out guitar tab sheets, so we could have a huge singalong at the campfire!  

Bobbie and rick arrived next, Roxie (the Beagle) in tow.  Rick brought fishing poles, so I joined him for some fishing.  I caught 5 blue gills, and he caught one.  yesssssss.  We saw a beaver.  It swam up to us, about ten feet away, then retreated.  Later, we saw him on the other side of the pond, dragging a tree back to his dam.  IT WAS AWESOME. 

Mom and mark arrived next, and then Molly and Scott.  we had a nice dinner of hot dogs and various salads, and then played some games for a bit.  When bedtime came, the kids all went down the way a bit to our cabin, and settled in for the night.  We quickly discovered that we had an uninvited guest in the cabin, a bat!  Molly, Scott, and I were already bundled up in all of our clothes, zipped into our sleeping bags, and Julie did not even care.  we were yelling and cursing that bat, but it kept swooping around the pitch black cabin, divebombing away, flitting through our beams of flashlight.  

I’m not sure if it left or went back to its hiding space, but I was tired and fell asleep.  Thankfully, none of us woke up with guano on us, bite marks, or having contracted rabies.  

The next morning, Molly and I woke up and did more fishing, I caught four more fishes, and since Rick wasn’t there, I took them off the hook all by myself!  This is a big step, y’all.  Apparently, I’m completely comfortable doing it, as long as I don’t have to actually TOUCH the dang fish.  Fish rag to the rescue!  Vasko would be so proud.  Sort of 😉

After breakfast, a few of us went into “town” to check out the Lancaster Sales store, which just happened to be right next to an army surplus store!  I bought a knife sharpener at the general store, which was somethign directly out of the 80’s.  It was hilarious.  I bought black/white/grey (urban) campo pants, and some pink paracord to make more survival bracelets.  I also got a cotton web belt to house my knife sheaths.  

The camo pants made me feel completely badass, so I put them on immediately upon arriving back at camp.  Those, paired with my giant survival knife, made me invincible.  I’m pretty sure.  Or at least, lets pretend. 

Image

The rest of the day was pretty mellow.  Did some canoeing, then had dinner.  After that, we went down to the main firering, and started a sweet bonfire.  Julie and mom brough down their guitars, and I had roughly four beers stuffed into the cargo pockets of my camo pants.  I was wearing a black wife beater and a sports bra.  I’m a classy lady.  Molly brought a bottle of vodka, and bobbie and mom had wine. 

For the singalong, we did mostly country, then veered off into other genres.  We ended with the best disney medley EVER.  it was so much fun 🙂  Then Julie got the awesome idea of tossing a pebble into the fire, which caused it to explode.  A burning ember, about one inch square, landed in my cleavage.  And proceeded to BURN ME. Of course, I started screaming like a banshee, and could not get it out.  You know how a sports bra kinda squishes your boobs together?  well, imagine a hot coal in between your boobs.  yeah. fun.   So I tried grabbing it through the bra, to hold it away from my skin, and the bra started melting.  Julie helped me get it out, and Tom dumped a whole bottle of water on me.  IT felt like heaven. 

I now have blisters on my boobs, y’all.  hahaha. 

Sunday was rainy, and we didn’t do much.  Made breakfast for the moms, and then packed up. Kev and I took mom to Olive garden later last night, which she loved., 

Camp was magical.  My soul needed a break; time to heal, time to mend, time to move on.  I’ve been so down lately, depressed about everything, really.  This did a lot to recharge me, although I’m nowhere close to happy yet.  I’ll get there, probably.  Its so easy to focus on all of the crap in my life, that I sometimes (read: always) forget about the good stuff.  

Forcing myself to focus on the good is hard, but I have to do it.  We’re in the home stretch for school, graduation is supposed to be at the end of October. So that’s good!  I go on vacation soonish, at the end of June.  So that’s good!  Two of my friends have gotten engaged in the past two weeks, which means weddings.   So that’s good!

What other good can I focus on? Help a sister out. 

 

One Response to “So, I had a pre…”

  1. Sam Says:

    Good things for you to focus on:
    -Finishing your Masters Degree
    -Reveling in the fact that you had the common sense, and awesome fortitude to get said Masters Degree
    -Your loving, affectionate puppy dog
    -Summer is here – your favorite season – bask in the sunshine
    -The amazing family you have: the ultimate “cool mom,” great cousins, a brother that you’ve grown into a comfortable friendship with, a dad who loves you unconditionally, and aunts and uncles who you can count on
    -The promise that the future is full of possibilities – and that you will get rewarded
    -Your friends: a great core group of peeps that you can see every day, a host of friends across the state and country who think you’re a rock star, and me – who has always been, and will always be, your biggest fan. ❤


Leave a Reply

